Current trends in Dublin for IT support and ops

lff12

Hello all;

After nearly 5 years of being out of Dublin I am thinking of coming back but am pretty overwhelmed by the advertisements out there at the moment. I have 6 years experience in technical support and operations, mostly Windows, and most recently Windows 2003 in a huge enterprise. For the last year I've worked on a team whose main role is to monitor networks and servers, so I've picked up a bit of Solaris, and HP Openview on Solaris. I have comptia certifications - A+, Network+, a Cisco CCNA (but little hands on experience aside from monitoring), and am doing a Linux+ in a couple of weeks. The next step for me are Windows 2k MCPs which I've been looking at for years, and then Windows 2003 server exams.

I would like to move back to Dublin but am finding it very overwhelming at present. I am finding on talking to recruiters that some jobs that only ask for 1-2 yrs exp are paying anything between 20-35k but on the other hand some jobs are asking for 3-5 yrs exp but when I tell them I want not less than 35k they say that is way too much.

My questions are:

1. is there a lot of "real" work at the moment? (and not just agencies fishing for cvs)
2. Are IT wages still fairly low as they are in much of the rest of Ireland?
3. Are companies still using a lot of agencies or has there been a trend to move back to in-house recruiting?
4. And finally, how long are people finding they need to wait to get jobs? - I'd like to have a job by Christmas at the latest, but am in no great rush

I was getting a lot of calls from agencies there for a while about Dublin jobs when I wasn't looking at relocating back home, but it was hard to say if they were agencies fishing around or if the jobs were any good (i.e. paying 35k or more).