Complete Beginner...

S

stekell32

Hi all, Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. I want to buy a house by myself (priced around 250k). I have 20k saved and my salary is 33k before tax. I was told by a broker i could get a mortgage of 230k but did not follow it up for various reasons. I don't know how any of this works the main things i need to know are....

• How much cash do i need? (to be comfortable)
  • Who should i go to bank or broker?
  • Which bank or broker?
  • What are the main things to look out for?
  • Will i need a solicitor? (If so cost?)
  • Any others cost to look out for?
  • Any other general points to add?
Thanks in advance,

stekell:)

I'd have to say forget it! The bank will probably look for you to have 20% these days so 50k. I dunno, are they still offering it on 92%? Im sure someone here is better informed.
If theres no cost involved, I'd go with the broker purely as I would prefer someone else put the best application together. Especially if you are saying you are a complete beginner.
You aren't going to get any amazing rates out there.
You will need a solicitor - last time i saw about 1000 + vat + outlay
You need to factor in the costs of life assurance, house insurance. Is the house new or old? You may want to consider having an engineer / surveyor look it over for any problems. Furniture, etc. I guess the costs depends on what you need to put in it and what you have.

Personally I have my own house. Mortgage is about 260k. Have my fiancee living with me and she's paying half the mortgage as her rent. But if it was just me on my tobler doing it again, I wouldnt! I would prefer the freedom of renting! I guess it just depends on if you are getting it where you want!