Company Directors & the PAYE tax credit

trigger

As an contractor I'm a 50% shareholder/director in my company. I've only just found out that I'm not eligible for the PAYE tax credit. Does anyone know the logic behind this?

As a regular PAYE employee of the company the only tax difference as far as I knew was that I had to pay class S PRSI. Why are directors not eligible for the PAYE tax credit? It's not like I can take tax free money out of the company any other way.

This has been the way for a long time. I think you would get the credit if your shareholding is under 15%.

Not been entitled to credit is not advertised enough. Revenue included it in tax free certs in the past and when you were doing a balancing statement for the year you became liable for it.

Not sure of logic, maybe it is to do with class s as director are seem as self employed to an extent.

Self-employed (sole traders / partnerships) are not entitled to the PAYE credit. a company director with in excess of 15% shareholding is considered "proprietory" akin to self-employed and is treated the same way.

There has been another thread on this on AAM recently.

Sounds a bit unfair to me. Is there some tax offset/deduction that means directors don't need the PAYE credit? Why would directors be treated differently to any other PAYE worker?

Sounds a bit unfair to me. Is there some tax offset/deduction that means directors don't need the PAYE credit? Why would directors be treated differently to any other PAYE worker?

Because our civil servants, media and political establishment tend to think of Arthur Daley and Delboy Trotter when they think of company directors. I'm not joking...

Because our civil servants, media and political establishment tend to think of Arthur Daley and Delboy Trotter when they think of company directors. I'm not joking...

Well put. I had horrible a feeling it was down to something like that. If only I was half a ballsy as Delboy :)