Can I buy a van without registering for VAT?

Chippy95

Hi!

I'm an apprentice carpenter working in Dublin.

I'd love to get a commercial van ASAP for convenience to transport materials to and from job sites.

My boss isn't in a position to buy another van and long term this will be of a benefit to me should I start taking on more of my own work.

I'm not registered for VAT or as a business.

Can I purchase this and get it taxed without much hassle?

Yes, there is nothing to stop you buying a van. Just as there is nothing stopping me buying a van.

However, as you are not registered for VAT, you won't be able to claim the VAT back on the van. ( I assume a VAT registered business can claim the VAT back.)

Your employer will pay you mileage in the ordinary way.

Brendan

Other issues that may arise are taxing and insuring the vehicle.

If it is to be used solely for commercial purposes you can tax it as such on completion of a declaration and having it witnessed at your local Garda Station. Your PPS no. should be inputted on the form in lieu of a VAT number.

If you do intend to use the van for purposes that aren't solely to do with your trade then you may need to tax it privately.

As for insurance, different companies tailor their cover in different ways so you'll need to be careful you choose a policy that suits your overall needs.

If it is to be used solely for commercial purposes you can tax it as such on completion of a declaration and having it witnessed at your local Garda Station. Your PPS no. should be inputted on the form in lieu of a VAT number.

Hi Zobeda

That is very interesting. What is the difference in the tax costs for commercial purposes vs. private purposes?

Brendan

Hi Brendan

A small commercial vehicle, up to 3000kg unladen , costs €333 to tax for one year, regardless of engine size.