Business Account- Personal Account, the fine line

M

mike54

Hi,

As a sole trader, I have a business account, a personal account with a deposit account linked to it (a direct debit from personal account to feed the deposit account).
I use the deposit account for raining days (National holiday’s periods, Christmas periods when work is rare)
I pay myself with a drawing from the business account.
The first fourth months in trading, I had only my personal account, but I easily managed to identify what was business related (not much going on the account for personal activity)

I found it a bit difficult/confusing for me to find the fine line in between personal bank account and business bank account as a self employed person, both accounts belong to me so when I’m doing my tax assessment Form 11 Capital account & balance sheet items, what is :

Cash/capital introduced
Cash/bank (debit)
Bank/loan/overdraft (credit)

Is that all from business account only or both business & personal account?

Thanks

Hi,

As a sole trader, I have a business account, a personal account with a deposit account linked to it (a direct debit from personal account to feed the deposit account).
I use the deposit account for raining days (National holiday’s periods, Christmas periods when work is rare)
I pay myself with a drawing from the business account.
The first fourth months in trading, I had only my personal account, but I easily managed to identify what was business related (not much going on the account for personal activity)

I found it a bit difficult/confusing for me to find the fine line in between personal bank account and business bank account as a self employed person, both accounts belong to me so when I’m doing my tax assessment Form 11 Capital account & balance sheet items, what is :

Cash/capital introduced
Cash/bank (debit)
Bank/loan/overdraft (credit)

Is that all from business account only or both business & personal account?

Thanks