Broke student - Any advice on pawn shops, flogging goods etc

Danielle24

Hi guys,

I've just recently started college part time and I work full time and live out on my own. So money is really tight this month, i've borrowed some money towards my fees but had to pay some myself. Anyways money is tight this month as you can imagine. I'm just wondering if anyone knows where I could get money without having to borrow, I have dressed in my wardrobe with tags still on, still have my debs dress, could sell these maybe, what abaout pawn shops are they a bad idea? I've jewellery i've never even worn.

Have you thought of selling on ebay? I have no experience of it myself but obviously millions have!

Agree on ebay. Never used pawn shops but I get the impression they know youre in a jam and hence can offer you rubbish prices.

Danielle you could put stuff up on donedeal.ie I have used it before and found it good. €3 for the ad. No connection just have sold things on it.
BTW I remember your earlier thread, http://www.askaboutmoney.com/showthread.php?t=134009 so you obviously decided to go back to college, good luck with it.
Another option is to bring your things to a car boot sale to try sell them.

Thanks guys i'm already on adverts and nothing much happening. Thanks fizzelina i'm delighted I decided to go back, I knocked about 6k off my debt since that thread so things are looking good :D

Careful with eBay.

I have been a registered user for about 10yrs, and the last 2 or so haven't used it much.

the fees are too high and the place is coming down with scammers. I sold a couple of things a few years back, and the buyers did nothing but complain and claimed their money back from PayPal when nothing wrong with the items.

I now use local free ads. Best option imho.