Bleeding Radiators - no valve on either top end?

paddyodoors

Hi

I am a novice radiator bleeder, and have a problem - we have a rad where the top is cold and bottom warm, so suspect just needs to be bled to drain out the trapped air - however there is not a valve on the top of the rad at either end to do it. Anything I have looked up always refers to this valve.

There are two white caps on the pipes that connect to the rad at the bottom - but I dont want to risk undoing either of them in case water pours out everywhere.

Also a more basic question - do I have to turn off the heating or stop the water flor from the tank when I do it?

thanks
Paddy

I have some double rads and the valves are on the inside of the rad rather than at the end - Grasp the top of the rad with your hand, as though you are 2FT tall and want to climb up and run your hand along the rad - Your fingers may find the valve on the side facing the wall
(awful description, but am sure you will understand)
If its a double rad, there will be one for each rad.

Also a more basic question - do I have to turn off the heating or stop the water flor from the tank when I do it?

thanks
Paddy
You will need the heating on and the rad beginning to get warm before bleeding. Bring an old towel or rag with you to catch the water as it begins to flow from the bleed-valve, which it will once all the air is gone.

Best of luck.

Found the valve - exactly as you described Conshine, was surprised to find it - not exactly convenient to get to are they - so now I know where to attack.....

Now any idea where I can pick up a key to undo it?

thanks again
Paddy

Sorry to steal the thread but I was just looking for some advice on the same subject.

I was painting my bathroom and I took off the radiator so I could paint the wall behind it.
After I put it back on I opened the valve at the top ane let the water flow.