Benchmarking payments will sink economy, STOP now!

P

PoorPensioners

Looks like we will all suffer because of the billion wasted in benchmarking payments, to people who have no productivity metrics - 'job-for-life' r's are ruining our future .. anyone agree ?

Benchmarking payments will sink economy, STOP now

I think the Benchmarking process should be reviewed. I work in the private sector and salaries being offered to new employees have fallen from previous unsustainable levels. Some employees have had a cut in salaries in light of the current economic environment. No pensions and no job security ( obiviously within legal constraints). These factors do not appear to have been considered in matching salaries. Also, Parental leave and other leave, whilst it must be given is frowned upon in certain private companies.

I am not saying that public servants are not entitled to wage increases but feel that the inflexibility of the benchmarking process combined with its lack of transparency is wrong.

Private sector salaries are more responsive to the economic climate. I understand that it appears unfair that public secto miss out in a boom and this should be resolved but equally if the boom becomes a downturn cuts in salary should occur.

Re: Benchmarking payments will sink economy, STOP now

Of course I agree. Why should people get paid more just because they are with an organisation for a certain length of time? - this breeds mediocrity and bad value for money.

a much better idea

Why don't we cancel the pay increases under Sustaining Progress - this will cost us a lot more.

Job Losses

Diageo (Guinness),Tayto and Oran PreCast Concrete announced approx 400 job losses today.

How many public sector jobs were lost this week?