bankruptcy and employment contract

R

rodger

Hi,

The banks threatened repossession last week:

Back in November they wrote to me offering what they called a restructuring.

I couldn't see any difference and along with other bank letters I ignored it.

Seems maybe they were extending the life of the mortgage ie repayments over a longer time.

Anyway they are now saying that I missed the opportunity to work inside the MARP and I am now going into ARA because 4weeks and 25 days have elapsed.
(I don't get a second chance)

But my question, in my job, there is a clause: that a condition of my employment being terminated is if I go bankrupt.

So what are the chances of my (private sector) being let go if I apply for bankruptcy?

Would the employer actively seek to enforce this?

Regards,

I should have mentioned I work in the financial sector
I am just 1 month in the job

Why are you applying for bankruptcy?

You have been ignoring the banks for some reason which is not clear.

(I don't get a second chance)

A second chance to ignore all the correspondence again?

You seem to be acting completely irresponsibly from your own account of the story.

The bank will repossess but they are unlikely to make you bankrupt.

Brendan

Rodger

How many mortgages have you got at home and abroad ?

Did you sell abroad ?

Brendan to answer your question: I am constantly reminded by the banks about how much arrears I have. The sad reality is that I have barely enough to pay the next month nevermind the arrears.

When I say ignoring bank letters it is only letters demanding payment of the arrears: that is all the bank sends me.

I presume the bank knows this but has never ventured any option. Not only could I not make the repayments on the investment property : the interest only period is coming to an end. So what I'm saying is that radical re-structuring is required for this to be viable ie interest only for another 10 years.