Bank of Ireland agrees to reinstate my tracker after only one letter!

L Knowles

Howdo . Im a newbie here so apologies in advance if i break any of the rules.
Just wondering if anyone can pass on some advice. We took out our motgage in 2004 with BOI , 50% on a tracker and 50% at a fixed rate. I knew less than the averrage joe about it but was advised this was the way to go.
Anyways somewhere between then and now the tracker disappeared. Having read a few threads on here i wrote to the bank a few weeks ago and they offered me the tracker back with a refund for the overpayment from 2008 on the one half of the mortgage.
On the other half they say there was never any mention of a tracker which in fairness reading through the docs there wasn't ( not in the offer we eventually drew down on ). It was silent completely on trackers. I presume the Bank are completely in the right now to just re-instate one half it? They have given me only 21 days to respond to their offer ( as the fixed rate is up again) so im under pressure to respond to them.
I just wonder have many had long dealings with BOI, and is there form now to offer exactly what your entitled to after only one letter?
Im obvioulsy delighted to get back 50% of the magical tracker, but don't want to rush into it if theres arguments to be made on the other 50%.
Any advice much appreciated

If there was no mention of a tracker on the other half, then you have no right to get it now.

Under the circumstances you should accept the offer. You have only got 6 years to rectify a mistake, so as they seem to have taken you off the tracker in 2008, you could miss out if you don't accept it.

Accept it.
Make sure that the refund is paid to you in cash, and not by way of reducing your mortgage.
Ask to see how the refund was calculated and get someone to check it for you.

As has been suggested - accept the first one.