Back to School Clothing and Footware Allowance

Ttree

Does anyone know how long it takes for the back to school allowance to come through, it is my first time to apply for it - I applied in the first week of June but have not heard back yet.

last august i sent the form in and got the payment a few days later.i usually wait till the last minute and then get the school clothes and shoes and bites n pieces.

i thought id get in early with form.. as im a lone parent i dont want to spend summer wondering how i will get thats needed !! thanks for reply Ttree

Given the expected increase in applications this year, applications made later in the summer may take some time. Might be better to apply in June/July rather than leave it to August to be certain of having the money in plenty of time!

yup i read that this morning on the social web site so i printed off the form and will send in the morning.phew :)

hi all, hope ye can help, my husband is on 3 day week now and gets 130e for the balance of his days so his total per wk is now 329e, i work part time and next income per month 1161e (which i use to pay mortgage) would we qualify for the back to school allowance, looked throught the forms etc but not sure really if we would it, do they take into the caluculations your child benefit? many thanks

Child benefit is not counted as income when assessing for the Back to School C & F scheme.

Your total income will be assessed (your wages, your husband's wages and his Jobseeker's payment) when deciding whether you're eligible or not.

many thanks gipimann, may as as well apply as we really could do with any extra help.

How many children do you have?

The limits for couples are:

1 child €560, 2 children €586, 3 children €612, 4 children €638,

You also need to be claiming or taking part in one of these:

• You are getting a social welfare payment (including Family Income Supplement) or a Health Service Executive payment, or