Am I crazy for considering ten year NTMA bonds?

theObserver

I am 47 in a few months; single with no kids; paid off my mortgage during the lock downs and built back up 120k in my current account. After paying the mortgage I increased my pension AVC to the maximum 25% and started invested 2k a month in EFTs funds.

In the medium term (5-10 years) I will likely be leaving my job to become a full time carer for my parents. I work in IT and realistically I might never work again because this industry do not have many 50 yr olds outside of senior management.

So I want to setup myself up as well as possible.

My thoughts are to take out a 50k 10-year NTMA bond and invest the remaining 50k in a year long saving account via Raisen. In two/three years I will take out a 55k 10-year NTMA bond and another 2/3 years I will cash out my ETFs for a final 10 year NTMA bond of 60k.

My thinking is I cant afford to lose this money and this method creates a decade long income stream for when I am 57-65 with bonds maturing every three years. At 65 I will draw my company pension.

The current interest rate of 2.1% AER tax free for the 10 year bond is not terrible and works out equivalent of just over 3% AER when tax is considered. In truth I like the idea of "locking" the money down. I considered the Trading212 etc deposit rate but I'm already investing with them for my ETFs and don't want to risk putting all my eggs in the basket.

Does anyone have any thoughts?

If you are unwilling to risk the money, then yes government bonds and savings accounts are probably you're best option.
2.1% is not a particularly good rate for bonds right now. You could consider other EU country government bonds. On Trade Republic you can invest in many different government bonds. There are a few youtube videos showing how.