Aer Lingus workers left with 4% of their pensions

roland

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1009/aer-lingus-pensions.html

The headline is bad enough, but when you look at the detail it's even more shocking:

Retired members get to keep 100% of their pension
Current employees are left with 4% of what they are due

How many more schemes are like this and will the fat cats at the top all retire to the sun with 100% of their entitlement leaving nothing for the workers?

It's nothing to do with the fat cats.

All retired employees, irrespective of their weight, get first call on the pension fund.

How many more schemes are like this and will the fat cats at the top all retire to the sun with 100% of their entitlement leaving nothing for the workers?

Those that are retired were all workers before they retired.

That said, if the percentage quoted is accurate, it's a terrible blow for those affected.

I'm speculating here as I have no knowledge of the finances of the DAA pension scheme. But it can happen in a DB Scheme that if there are a high number of pensioners relative to the numbers of active members, the cost of securing the pensioners' entitlements can leave very little over for anyone else.

Here’s an earlier article where it stated in 2010 there was close to 2 retired/deferred pensions to be supported by every 1 active employee. This is clearly a scheme that can’t work.

The situation with regard to Aer Lingus is particularly illustrative of the problems.
On March 31st[2010], the airline had 3,004 active members but 3,700 deferred members and 3,440 pensioners.