Advice and recommendations on what area in South Dublin to buy

S

sorcha1234

Hello,
I am only new to the forum, so I am not totally sure if it is ok to speak about particular areas in detail, but I had read threads from other posters so I hope this is ok.

I am not from Dublin originally, and I am now in a position to buy with the current market prices. I am currently renting an apt in Tallaght Dublin 24 and from my travels I was thinking of buying in either, the cheaper part of Templeogue (Rossmore or Orwell Areas), Rathfarnham, ideally around the Rathfarnham shopping centre/Tesco, Marley Grange area or Ballinteer.

I have no knowledge of these areas, as in I don't know anyone personally who lives there, just they seem nice to me, for a young married couple hoping to start a family. I am just looking for any help getting the full inside before I take the plunge, as I said all I really know would be like, Marley is close to Dundrum, the luas and the lovely park, Butterfield area has Bushey park and a lovely pub the old orchard.... If anyone who lives in any of these areas or is from there etc. could help me or give me advice or your recommendations?

Many Thanks
Sorcha

orwell/rossmore is a nioce areas as is around butterfield....i'm sure other 2 are equally nice too just dont know them myself......i think rathfarnham would get my vote.....if i could afford it!!

Orwell/Rossmore wouldn't be considered as nice as the other areas that you mentioned.

The Gallops is a very nice area and close to Dundrum and Marley area. It is very settled, the older part I mean. Good Luck Browtal

Hi Sorcha,
I grew up in Sandyford and my other half in Rossmore, we now live in Grangewood opposite Marley Park. We've been here for 10 years and have to say it's a great place to live. THe park is right on our doorstep and there's loads of amenities such as Nutgrove, Dundrum Shopping centre and loads of sports clubs close by.