Accounts Assistant 20k! how can one survive!!!!

ubend

I am 28 years of age .. i have 6 yrs work experience organising courses as an IT instructor

I wanted to make a change of career, i want to get work in a multinational company in the accounts department, having only 3 mths experience with accounts and a fetac part-time accounting course completed i have been told by recruitment agencys that i could expect no more than 20-21k in the cork region

How can I impove my prospects , are there courses that i could do to get experience with sap, query mgt system, oracle, pegasus

i have fantastic pc experience i thought this would be very beneficial seems not

If this is a profession that you want to go into, I would aim to get a job in the funds industry. There are plenty of jobs available in the sector, in a variety of locations (not just the IFSC).

I know people working for fund administrators, and they are generally happy in their jobs, which is more than I can say for most of my friends.

The hours can be long at month-end, but this is true of the accounts/finance function in most multinationals.

Starting salaries are not great (can you show me a job where no qualifications gets you a good starting salary?), but there is generally a well defined advancement scale, good bonus and benefit schemes, and a good (well subsidised!) social scene.

P.S. I work in financial services, but not in the funds industry, so this isn't self promotion!

Whatever you choose to do, all the best.

Ubend, I dont mean to dishearten you but I am an accounts administrator/assistant, I do all the computerised accounts up to audit level, I have over 5 years doing this and I'm still only earning 25k! That's along with doing all the office duties (filing, answering phones, payroll, ordering stationery, everything!).