Writing thesis...can i get the dole?

M

m.student

Hi everyone,

I am currently a Masters student and the term ends the middle of May. However, after this I will be writing my thesis until Sept 26th (the deadline!). Someone mentioned that I can apply to get the dole if i get a letter from the college saying that I'll be writing the thesis during the summer. They think this is because we will not have any classes or be in college, but we wont be able to work either cos we'll be writing the thesis. Does anyone know if this is true?

Thanks

you can only get the dole if you are looking for work and available for work. I worked full time between finishing my exams and submitting my thesis. It involved a serious amount of late nights and weekends working on thesis but I needed to pay the rent so I got a job. How have you been supporting yourself up until this stage of the course?

I've supported myself from money saved from working last summer and my parents helping me out a bit. i got a job for a couple of months during the year but gave it up due to the workload in college. i will probably move home and get a part time job if i cant get the dole.

The bottom line is that you must be available for and genuinely seeking FULL-TIME work to get the "dole". Put it like thius, if they ask you to take up a FAS course adn you can't because of your commitment to the thesis, then you ar enot entitled to claim JB/JA

Get part time job you will be glad of the break from the thesis - in reality you will not be spending 12 hours per day at it. Its painful doing them during the summer months, the partime job will help you keep your sanity - believe me!

Hi M.student,

I was in the same situation. I went on the dole for a few months while writing my thesis. I was also applying for jobs during this time as well. Got a job just two weeks before submitting my thesis.