working with disadvantaged people

evanne

Hi there folks, was just wondering if anyone could give me advice on how to move into this area. At the moment I work in recruitment. There is money in it but very little satisfaction. In fact I hate it and just want to get out! I enjoy the people side of the job but the sales aspect is killing me. Its just more,more,more & I just don't care anymore. What I would love to do is work with disadvanted people in the area of employment ie: helping unemployed people back into the workforce, or dis-abled people. Could anyone help? Is there any particular quals you need? I have about 4 years recruitment experience and I am good :)
My heart is just not in it anymore and as cliched as it sounds, I just wanna do something worthwhile...
Thanks

Would you consider doing some voluntary work first to get a feel for the area you are hoping to move into? It might be better to dip your toe before you jump in. I think you do need to be cut out to work with disadvantaged people ... to deal with the lack of resources and the frustration of being underfunded and over stretched. If it were me I would get involved with something that really interests me in my own area such as adult literacy, meals on wheels, leisure buddies, enable ireland etc. and take it from there.

Second what Henny Penny says about trying out volunteering first. Be prepared for a pay cut in you decide to get a paid job. Check out www.activelink.ie for volunteering and job opportunities in the voluntary sector.