Working out Wear n Tear offset for tax on rental income

galleryman

This is my first time renting out a property.
I will be renting fully furnished.
I understand that I can write down the value of fixtures and fittings etc at a rate of 12.5% per Yr over 8 yrs for wear N tear.

My questions is this, what value can I put on the furniture and Kitchen, and white goods, etc?

Some furnishings are very new, some are 8 yrs old already but were very expensive 8 yrs ago and would still be worth a lot of money, e.g. Wardrobes that cost €1,000 each 8 yrs ago. We paid €10,000 for a new kitchen 3 yrs ago etc etc.

Where can I find the rules for what is excluded from the wear n tear list, and how I go about placing a value on the fixtures and fittings/contents at the start of a Renting period?

Thanks.

What would be excluded are items considered part of the structure, e.g. tiles, heating systems etc. Included would be fitted units, loose furniture, down to microwave etc. There is no definitive list of what's in or out as such but there are a number of past posts on this issue on AAM which might fill in more for you.

Value would be reasonable value at start of letting period, what you would expect to pay for such items in that age and condition. Again, no hard rules, but such values are reasonable.

This is my first time renting out a property.
I will be renting fully furnished.
I understand that I can write down the value of fixtures and fittings etc at a rate of 12.5% per Yr over 8 yrs for wear N tear.

My questions is this, what value can I put on the furniture and Kitchen, and white goods, etc?

Some furnishings are very new, some are 8 yrs old already but were very expensive 8 yrs ago and would still be worth a lot of money, e.g. Wardrobes that cost €1,000 each 8 yrs ago. We paid €10,000 for a new kitchen 3 yrs ago etc etc.