Working from home: Tax, PRSI, implications

November

This is my first time post so Mod, please move if I am not in the right forum!

My situation is as follows:
I was made redundant in January this year and have been claiming Job Seekers Benefit. I contacted my previous employer about doing some contract work (from home) for them and they have agreed. I am not sure what I need next.

I need to head to the SW office today to "sign-off", will it be okay that I don't have any letter of employment? Do they care as long as they are not giving me money?

I am hoping to make €10,000 between October and year-end, i.e. I will be submitting invoices for this amount over a 3-month period. Is this outside taxable income for 2008, can I just lodge and spend the money?

How do I make personal PRSI payments as someone who is essentially self-employed?

In the past I have heard of people setting themselves up as "companies"? Is this an option?

I worked for 10 years with my previous employer, and it was great having all of this handled at source!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

File a TR1 form with tax office to register as a soletrader from when you sign off. say register from 01/10/08 for example your 2008 tax return will include income from self employed from oct to dec less expenses plus job benefit from jan to oct. if the job benifit is from from jan to oct overall yearly tax bill will be small. prsi calulated when doing tax return

Thanks papervalue

I looked up that TR1 form and think that I can manage it myself (plus found alot of other usefull material on the revenue website). It is just a bit daunting starting off, and certainly don't want to skip my tax obligations.

Should I add VAT to invoices (at 21%?), my ex-employer (Ireland-based) is VAT exempt so presume that I don't?