Wireless Router/ WIFI connections

huntdor

I have my internet package from Digiweb which is provided through a Thompson modem and with the signal received through cable.I recently purchased a wireless router (for cable) purchased from argos (TP Link N150 CABLE WIRELESS ROUTER) to try and receive a wifi connection.
However it is causing problems. I have been unable to get the net on other devices and it is causing problems with the internet service itself. I have, I think connected properly. Any ideas? Have I the right type of router?

I've no experience of Digiweb, but are you sure your package includes the use of a WIFI enabled router? The reason I ask is that all cable operators over here (Switzerland) require an additional fee and a different modem before you can hook up a router to it...

yeah, is sounds like you have the right device, but I am not fimilar with that model. Do you know if Digiweb provide you with a fixed or dynamic IP address? If its fixed you will have to configure this on to the new router.

Does your laptop establish a wireless connection to the device? or does it fail while connecting?

I think digiweb use a fixed IP address and DNS servers . If you haven't got them written down somewhere you could go to the PC you've been using and check what they are . To do that , go to your network and sharing centre / network connections in the control panel and right click on your local area connection , scroll down and click properties . You should be able to see them there .
To input them to your router you will need to connect to your router ,go to your browser and log in to the router using the instructions that came with it .

Hope this helps a bit.

You are mad to be trying this if you don't know what you are doing. I don't know about Digiweb, but I know that UPC's cable broadband service ties you to the MAC address of the UPC-supplied cable modem. You can't replace it, full stop.

You need to talk to your supplier.