why turned down for a credit card by Halifax and Tesco?

gnubbit

My friend earns €45k basic and has one loan.

The loan is for €50k over 58 months.

He's made 16 payments and has overpaid as he wants to clear it faster. He had a credit card in the past and always cleared his balance monthly.

But recently he applied to Halifax and Tesco for credit cards and was turned down by both of them. They said it was because of his credit rating. He checked his credit report and the loan is on it but nothing negative as he has always kept his finances in good order.

I just don't get it. I have a credit card and I'm a student so I'm not even earning! So how come he was refused? Is this the credit crunch in action?

He wants a card for the convenience, doesn't need a high credit limit, any idea what he should do?

I think he's feeling bad that he was rejected.

Re: Why was my friend turned down for a credit card?

Has your friend tried AIB or BoI ? I heard it said on the radio yesterday by the Business Editor of the Sunday Tribune, that the UK financial institutions are not doing any new business in Ireland.

The decision that Halifax and TESCO made on the application is theirs to make. They are not obliged to approve the application.

Thanks for the reply. No, he hasn't applied to anyone other than Halifax (who he now banks with) and Tesco.

Of course it's up to the institution to approve or decline an application. I was just wondering why as I would have thought he was a good risk.

I'm also wondering why Halifax/Tesco are taking applications for these products if they're not dong any new business in Ireland.

Tesco Personal Finance are accepting new credit card customers but they are very selective as to who they accept as a customer.

Your friend simply did not match Tesco Personal Finance's high criteria.

Thanks for the reply. No, he hasn't applied to anyone other than Halifax (who he now banks with) and Tesco.