Why has N26 so few customers in Ireland?

someCitizen

Heya,
I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this.

I've been using N26 for several years and found it a great bank but have noticed that it remains quite niche compared to revolut which has gained a lot of traction.

With the withdrawal of 2 major banks forcing many to reevaluate their options I had hoped N26 would benefit and it might even cause somewhat of a network effect but at least from what I've seen there has been very little uptake in accounts.

Ive noticed that there are few features being rolled out in Ireland whereas there even some savings options in other European countries. I was actually quite annoyed at their recent "n26 day" gimmick which from what I could tell had some prizes for people who would praise them on Instagram.

I would like to recommend n26 to others and thought this would be a perfect time to do so but instead I find myself becoming disappointed that it has made little progress in Ireland despite it seemingly being a perfect place to gain customers.

Is it time to just move away from them to something more commonly used?

Any informed opinions or idle speculation welcome

Last edited:
Ireland clearly isn't a key market for them, and with a modest population, and circa 2 million of us now using Revolut, they may feel that they've lost their opportunity here (which is a pitty, as I've read a lot of positive things about their service, compared to Revolut, for example).

Main reason I didn’t go to them from KBC: no joint accounts.
They have shared spaces which are effectively the same thing. You do have to pay for those.

Biggest annoyance for me so far is that you can only save a payment contact when making a payment, and it will not save the reference with that contact. So bill payments or repeated transfers with the same reference require you to copy paste that in from somewhere.