Want to clear arrears - where to go for finance?

Joe90

Hi, I'm a long time lurker, but first time poster, and would like to stimulate some discussion wrt clearing off arrears after going through a bit of a wobble on mortgage repayments.

We were both out of full-time work for about 12 months, and we contacted out mortgage provider straight away when this happened in 2011. I'm a teacher, and I worked casually for 9 months, and claimed my stamps for the summer and seasonal holidays, OH got 1 day a week in an office.

I managed to work every week, in about a dozen different schools, not every day, but a few weeks here a there, and 2/3 days in other weeks. Some weeks I got SW, as I might have only got 2 days work. All this time we filled in the 3-monthly budget forecast for our mtg provider, and kept in constant touch with them. They firstly allowed us interest only on the first 3 mths, then 3 months at half interest, and finally 6 months at an agreed fixed amount.

Finally in August, I secured a permanent job, after applying to 173 different positions. The same week, OH got offered full-time hours where she works. We contacted the mtg provider once the final 6 mths arrangement was about to end, and informed them of out good news, we have since resumed full payments and are making them each month. Happy days.

The end up from the arrangement is that we have about €8k of arrears owing to the mtg provider, and they issued a CGL to us each month to remind us. I would love to pay this off with a personal loan, and have priced the repayments at about €125 per month over 4 years. We have no other commitments other than our mortgage. I do not wat to lump it on to the capital o/s on the mortgage, as there is about 26 years left on it, and I calculated (roughly) that we would be repaying about €16k at the current variable rate if it goes on the mortgage.