Vehicle Registration Tax (VRT) Query

BOC_ARDEE

Hi folks,

I came up with an idea though I don't know if there is any merit to it...
I recently bought a car in the UK and the VRT is €9500. It then went upto €10200 because I had leather seats and metallic paint..Which is a complete joke.

I noticed that it is possible to register a company in the Isle of Man for €69 including a "virtual address". If I register such a company and deemed the car I just bought as a company car to my Isle of Man company, would I be right in saying that I could legally drive it over here without paying VRT on it as it would already be registered to me in the IoM?.

After a period of 6 months could I then do a business transfer to Ireland?. (Business transfer company cars are VRT exempt).

Has anyone tried this or do they know the tax implications of such an ordeal?. I know its a bit dodgy, but still sounds legal.

Any info or discussions are most welcome....

Regards,
Barry.

Hi Barry,

I'm no expert but there are various reliefs and exemptions from VRT. These are described in individual public notices which are available from any VRO. They include exemption which may apply in the case of :

- Transfer of residence
- Transfer of business activity
- Inheritance

I can't comment on the legality of your proposed solution but I doubt it is as simple as that but then again, I'm no expert!

Cheers Ivory,

I'm kinda thinking along the same lines as the foreign nationals. They have their cars registered to Polish, Russian addresses or whichever and can legally drive here in Ireland as they are still within the EU.