Variable vs fixed rates

confused12

Hi all,

I'm new to the mortgage malarkey.

I'm eyeing up a potential 300k mortgage for a house worth 500k. No decisions made yet.

All things being equal, as a 32 year old (if that matters), am I better going fixed or variable? I understand there's no way of predicting which will be cheaper in the long run - unless I've missed a trick.

With my job I do have the flexibility to work more or less, if having to adjust the mortgage rates.

There are various factors to consider. However, in the market at the moment, fixed rates are generally much more competitive than variable rates. So personally I don’t see a strong argument for going variable unless you want the ability to overpay your mortgage.

So personally I don’t see a strong argument for going variable unless you want the ability to overpay your mortgage.
And bear in mind that Ulster Bank and KBC (and others) let you make large overpayments without penalty, even if you are on a fixed rate.

I understand there's no way of predicting which will be cheaper in the long run
Indeed, but in the short run fixed is cheaper with most providers.

Whether you fix short or long is the question. Longer is more expensive but insures against rates rising.

I think fixing is only worth it if you have a high mortgage as a share of income and would struggle with rate increases.

If your payments are <25% of net income you should be able to deal with rate increases as they occur. So better to fix for shorter.

Short answer:

Right now, across the entire market, all lenders are offering lower rates for fixed than variable. More specifically, there is a 'sweet spot' in the 4 & 5 year fixed rates where they are actually lower than shorter terms. Banks are pricing their mortgages to get customers to stay for longer.