unemployment assistance + proceeds of house sale

Lorraine

I'm a legally separated mature student surviving on a grant and a college assistantship, unemployed during the summer months. The family home has been sold and half of proceeds are in the bank since the last two weeks (hope to purchase new home within the next six months). In requesting unemployment assistance the interviewing SW inspector requested dep. a/c statement and told me I'd be refused assistance because of my 'savings' in that they are in excess of 20,000. He did suggest and I go through the process and then appeal.

Does anyone know if there is a time frame during which such 'savings' can be disregarded during a house purchase period. Every 100 euro is vital when considering the excessive cost of property, stamp-duty, solicitors etc.,

I think I read a similar scenario on this site but can't find it. Would appreciate any comments.

not applicable to my situation as neither spouse is in the family home. House was sold, proceeds split 50/50 therefore both are now classed as first time buyers when purchasing new homes.

Ah - I see. Just thought I'd err on the side of caution in mentioning it...

The assessment of capital for Jobseeker's Allowance is as follows:

Weekly Means
  • First €20,000 nil
  • Next €10,000 €1 per €1,000.
  • Next €10,000 €2 per €1,000.
  • Excess of €40,000 €4.00 per €1,000.
The single rate of JA is €185.80 so persons with savings over €78,750 or thereabouts won't qualify.

(taken from welfare.ie )

I'm not aware of any exemption period for the savings in your account. If you don't qualify for JA this time, remember to ask for a re-assessment of means when you begin to buy the house and your savings start to reduce (if you're still signing at that stage of course).

Last edited: