Transferring balance - good idea?

moneypitt

Hi,

I have been using a MBNA Gold card for last three years or so, and usually pay off the outstanding by due date. I like them for their travel insurance and payment protection, however, I have never had any use of them yet.

At the moment, after a two week holidays etc, I owe them nearly 4000 euros and I was wondering if its a good move to switch to say UlsterBank Zinc card and and transfer the balance there 9 months (interest free).

Would this effect my credit rating? Also recently I was denied a small loan of 1500 euros (leather sofa, pay after a year etc) - I don't have any other outstanding loans, never denied a loan before, have regular savings and now a recently bought a house on mortgage > 250K. My logic is that the loan was denied a) because the retailer thought I will pay it back in time and no benefit to them, b) the house I bought was rented out and have gardii calling in for previous tennants - for various crimes etc..

Curious to know if its worth switching, as I can't afford to take any more bad points on my credit rating.

thanks for reading!

Re: transfering balance, good idea?

moneypitt said:
I like them for their travel insurance and payment protection, however, I have never had any use of them yet.
Are you sure that the travel insurance offered is full travel insurance and not just basic "in transit" insurance? What I mean is don't assume that it is a replacement for a separate travel insurance policy. It may not be! Similarly why do you like the payment protection? Such policies often cost a lot and only pay out in very restricted circumstances and for limited periods of time. Check the terms & conditions of the policies to make sure that the cover is up to the standard required!
At the moment, after a two week holidays etc, I owe them nearly 4000 euros and I was wondering if its a good move to switch to say UlsterBank Zinc card and and transfer the balance there 9 months (interest free).