Tax Question: Employee and sole trader at same time?

Irishchappie

I work in the IT sector, have been in full time employment for a number of years and am quite happy to stay in this situation for job security, etc.
However as with a lot of people in the sector you always end up fixing PC's for friends/family etc.

By doing this for a good while I've built up a good client base of friends, family and others through word of mouth. Now a lot of people will give you a few quid, even if you dont expect it, for your time and effort and it does add up over time.

However I've now been approached by a few of these people who are self employed to start providing them with IT advice and services on a regular basis and they have asked if I could provide them with VAT receipts for these services. I've advised them that it will only be evening and weekend work that I can do and they are very happy with this as I charge only a fraction of what a normally IT support company would charge.

My question is:

Can I do this and not be taxed to the hilt for doing it?

I currently use my TFA for my current job, so what are my options?

I.C

Your additional earnings will be taxed at your marginal rate. If you are single and earn over 32K, your marginal rate will more than likely be 42%.

Say you bring in fees of 5K during the year and have business expenses of 1K. Your profit of 4K is taxed at 42% and liable to PRSI at 5%.

Assuming you are not generating sales in excess of 25.5K, you do not have to register for VAT, so will not be charging VAT - so no need to raise an actual VAT invoice.

Your additional earnings will be taxed at your marginal rate. If you are single and earn over 32K, your marginal rate will more than likely be 42%.

Yeah thats what I figured alright, Im earning over 32k at the moment and was just hoping I could reduce this a little but I guess not!!