Tax on Nixers?

grotty

Hi,

I'm a programmer and I was thinking of looking for a few small website, e-commerce sites to get some extra cash together. I was just wondering from a tax point of view, would this be extremely difficult?

Anyone have any idea?

Thanks clubman,But I was thinking more along the line of not becoming an employee for the second/third/fourth companies. More that I would produce the site, bill them and send what ever documents & tax to the revenue people.

Tommy McGibney's [broken link removed] might be of interest to you. also contains a wealth of information on starting/running a business. I'm not sure how simultaneous income from employment and self-employment is treated from a tax point of view but I'd imagine that this has been covered here on AAM in the past in case that's of any use.

The guide is a great basic start- thanks very much. Seems like such an awful amount of work to go to though. I suppose there is a reason why they like to make everything so difficult!

ClubMan said:
What work in particular and who is "they"?

A lot of people dont bother paying tax on nixers. Very unlikely you'll be caught.

Yeah yeah I know thats bad financial advice but in reality if its a small most dont pay the tax

The Revenue wheels might grind slowly but they sometimes grind exceedingly fine......

This queries outlined in this thread are to do with business-to-business transactions. Whatever about the wisdom of evading tax on business-to-consumer transactions, (which is not in any way recommended, due to the severity of Revenue interest and penalties whenever such a scam is uncovered), doing so in respect of business-to-business transactions is plain daft.