Tax Amateur

S

Swoon0

Hi, I am new to this Tax mularky !!, decided to learn to do basic returns for my Self-Employed wife (as in she is a partner in a firm), as we have just got a bill from an accountant for Euro 510.00 to do the following 1. Tax registration 2. Determining Assessible Spuse 3. Peparing of Return of Income Form 11, 2002, 4. Specifiying preliminary Tax & 5."Various" interviews and correspondances with selves and third parties - Infact this was two very short meetings

Can somebody please advise a) If they know of an accountant that will do a return for 2003 and the preliminary tax for 2004 for a fixed fee, and will save me having to "learn" the ropes ! ??
b) Is the Euro 510.00 charge about right for the work as outlined above ?

Also, as a self employed partner of a firm, has she a right to claim back VAT in relation to anything ?

Many thanks in advance

Can somebody please advise a) If they know of an accountant that will do a return for 2003 and the preliminary tax for 2004 for a fixed fee, and will save me having to "learn" the ropes ! ??
If you are happy with your existing accountant's work and charges, why not use them again?

b) Is the Euro 510.00 charge about right for the work as outlined above ?
Impossible to say without knowing all the facts but on the surface it appears reasonable.

Also, as a self employed partner of a firm, has she a right to claim back VAT in relation to anything ?
No, unless she is VAT registered in her own name in respect of a VAT-able activity.

Conflict of interest: I am a practising accountant.

Thanks for reply Tommy, I think its really that I'm not happy paying 510.00 euro for the minimalist work done on this.

No doubt I'll be back with plenty of questions in the coming months as I learn the ropes myself !!

Thanks