Stamp duty on site

lyonsa3

Novice here and know very little about buying a site to build. If I buy a site with planning permission do I pay stamp duty on the cost of the site or the size of the house to be built on it?

Also if I get outline planning permission on a site how long is it valid for and am I guaranteed to get full planning in the future if I co-operate with suggestions of the planning board?

Hi lyonsa3

You have to pay 9% stamp duty on the site.
Both outline planning permission and full planning permission last for 5 years from the date permission was granted.

I chcked this out before & I was advised that the SD is 9% on the site. However if it is a serviced site then the total cost of the site will include VAT. The stamp duty is applicable to the pre VAT price.

Lyonsa,

If buying a site, always buy Subject to Planning.
May sound obvious but the amount of people I've seen buy a site then go looking for planning (and fail) would suprise you.

Outline Planning Permission is really an agreement in practice by the Council to let you build a house at that location. As with all planning, their will be criteria attached to the final planning.

ninsaga,

Are you sure it's a straight 9% on all sites?

According to www.oasis.gov.ie 9% is only payable on sites over €150K:

Rates of stamp duty on land/housing sites without residential buildings:

Up to 10,000 euro Exempt
10,001 euro - 20,000 euro 1%
20,001 euro - 30,000 euro 2%
30,001 euro - 40,000 euro 3%
40,001 euro - 70,000 euro 4%
70,001 euro - 80,000 euro 5%
80,001 euro - 100,000 euro 6%
100,001 euro - 120,000 euro 7%
120,001 euro - 150,000 euro 8%
Over 150,000 euro 9%

I believe, as techman, there is a rising scale, from 10K- 150K, for sites
with no connected agreement to build a house or apartment

If there is an agreement regarding building of a dwelling,