Sole trader - mileage and subsistence expenses

P

pintail

I am a part-time sole trader (I also have PAYE income). When I started sole trading work, I carried on using mileage and subsistence rates as I had been (and am doing) in my PAYE employment. I only recently became aware that as a sole trader, I am not allowed to claim flat rate mileage and subsistence expenses for the purposes of my tax returns. This means that I have made incorrect tax returns for the period 2001-2004, and underpaid tax. I have calculated that my tax under payment is around €1,900.

In mitigation, there are a couple of factors:
- in my first tax return as a sole trader, I included a full breakdown of the expenses, which included mileage.
- in my 2003 tax return, I included an expression of doubt that stated that I was using civil service subsistence rates.

I do not have an accountant, as (until recently) my sole trading income was only a few thousand per year, so was not worth spending money on an accountant.

I know that I will have to inform the revenue about this, but does anybody have any tips for how to go about this, and is there anything I should do first? Will the mitigating factors count for anything?

Thanks

I have calculated that my tax under payment is around €1,900.
I do not have an accountant, as (until recently) my sole trading income was only a few thousand per year, so was not worth spending money on an accountant.

If you have ended up underpaying tax by €1,900, it certainly would have been worth spending money on an accountant to avoid this. An hour's advice at the outset would hardly have cost you 10% of the €1,900 underpayment. You will probably end up paying more than this at this stage having your errors corrected, unless you want to risk approaching the Revenue on your own, a risk that I would not recommend.

unless you want to risk approaching the Revenue on your own, a risk that I would not recommend.