Return to work after maternity leave - change in roster

Simi456

Hi. I am returning to work after 12months of maternity leave. I am an optician

Whilst I was off my maternity cover has been given a 4 day contract at my job. She previously was a mobile worker before and only worked 2 days at my store.
I also am contracted to work 4 days.

Her contract is better than mine as it states that she does not have to work weekends. The no working weekend has been in her contract for 5 years whilst working for the company. I work in a store. 7 day week.

There is also a trainee who need to work 3days.

Whilst she was covering my maternity leave , she worked Monday Tuesday Thursday and Friday. Nothing is going to change for her.

I used to work Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday, and then an alternate Saturday. So Thursday off.

Now I have to work every Sunday as there are not enough clinics for me during the week….. as she works 4 days. My contract does not state the weekend clause.

I feel if I was not on maternity leave, she would not have obtained a 4 day contract at my store.

Now the only one who has to compromise is me. Nothing changes for her which I feel is unfair. Is this maternity discrimination?

Hi. I am returning to work after 12months of maternity leave. I am an optician

Whilst I was off my maternity cover has been given a 4 day contract at my job. She previously was a mobile worker before and only worked 2 days at my store.
I also am contracted to work 4 days.

Her contract is better than mine as it states that she does not have to work weekends. The no working weekend has been in her contract for 5 years whilst working for the company. I work in a store. 7 day week.

There is also a trainee who need to work 3days.

Whilst she was covering my maternity leave , she worked Monday Tuesday Thursday and Friday. Nothing is going to change for her.

I used to work Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday, and then an alternate Saturday. So Thursday off.