Remortgage to pay of taxman?

B

behindontax

Sitting in a world of hurt of my own doing atm.

Have a limited company, and the company, and hence I, owe the tax man approx 80,000 euro from the last 4 years.

Now he wants his pound of flesh, which is fair enough.

With very limited capital available, my only options to square this are to agree a repayment schedule with the tax man which involve hefty interest rates or re-mortgage.

House is worth about 350,000 with about 140,000 owing and we are 6 years into a 20 year mortgage with IN( don't ask ) paying roughly 3.5% atm.

Any thoughts on approaching a lender with regard to re-mortgaging to clear the tax man.

I know they don’t like it but has anyone experience of doing this?

And also as I will essentially be lending the company 80,000 I assume I can withdraw the funds over the next few years as loan repayments and don’t have to pay tax?

Thanks

I am not an expert and will definitely be corrected but...

I thought you and your ltd company were separate. Can you put your limited company in receivership/liquidation? Then it's the company, and not you, that owes Revenue the money.

I thought that was the whole point of ltd companies?

sluice44 said:
I am not an expert and will definitely be corrected but...

I thought you and your ltd company were separate. Can you put your limited company in receivership/liquidation? Then it's the company, and not you, that owes Revenue the money.

I thought that was the whole point of ltd companies?

Not any longer. Directors can be (and are, as a matter of course) held personally responsible for company debts in a very wide range of scenarios.

Any thoughts on approaching a lender with regard to re-mortgaging to clear the tax man