Registering a business.

C

caryatnid

Hi.
I'm currently in full-time employment but want to set up my own business over the next year.

This business will be web-based, and I already know the name of the company and the website I want. I have been surfing the net the last few days, trying to find some info on business start up. However the first thing I want to do, is reserve my website address, with the intention of starting up the site in a few months.

I can reserve the .com version no problem. However I need to have a registered company in Ireland in order to reserve the .ie version.

Is it possible to register a company which has not started yet, will not start making money for at least a year, and of which I am the sole director? Is it possible to register simply a company name, without giving particular details?

Thanks for any help and advice. I've never done this before so anything you can say to me will help.

Caryatnid.

Hi Caryatnid.....I'm in the exact same boat as you ....My understanding is that you register the business name at www.cro.ie like gauloise says, they give you a reg number and then you give this number to someone like www.letshost.ie etc when you apply for .ie domain. When you register the business with www.cro.ie they will ask you the details of the business (e.g. web site design) and when the business is starting. Once the business name is registered I believe that's it, as a sole trader at least. If you really want to form a company (i.e. LTD.) rather than a sole trader things get more complex after registering (legal stuff re directors, shares etc).

squonk is on the mark..

Go to www.cro.ie and you can register your business name online - costs 20 notes (or maybe a wee but more). When the registration is processed, you will receive a Registered Business Number. You can use this RBN to get your .ie domain name - I'd recommed letshost.ie - excellent and prompt service..