Refund for GP Visits & Prescriptions?

Dudley

Hi,

In the past year I have had quite a number of visits to my GP as well as paying out a lot in relation to prescriptions.
My question is would I be entitled to any type of a refund for the GP visits or the prescriptions?.
I have been paying PRSI in Ireland since 1997 and I am with VHI.

Thanks
D

You can claim as well for expenses like GP visits which are for instance only for 50 % covered by your health insurer.

Surely this is dependant on the type of cover maintained with health insurers. Not aware of 50% cover with VHI for GP visits. They do provide some [broken link removed].

If your prescription costs are ongoing, apply for a Drugs Payment Scheme card from the HSE - you should only have to pay a max of €85 per month (includes all members of the family). The pharmacy may have application forms, or check at the local health centre.

Thanks for your replies. I will look in to those.
Just to answer your question Mynydd - no I do not already claim tax relief for medical expenses.

D

Surely this is dependant on the type of cover maintained with health insurers. Not aware of 50% cover with VHI for GP visits. They do provide some [broken link removed].
Yes - it depends on your health insurance. For example some VHI policies refund €20 or €30 per GP visit less an annual €1 excess. Obviously you can only claim tax relief on qualifying medical/dental expenses above the relevant limit that have not otherwise been reimbursed (e.g. by private health insurance).

You should be at least looking at claiming any tax relief on medical/dental expenses to which you are entitled. See here.

[broken link removed]

As far as I know the €125/€250 "excess" has been abolished in Budget 2007 with effect from the 2007 tax year - but this is not mentioned in the above FAQ.

Pull together all your medical receipts (for all years - everything!).