Really need advice 40k in debt - thinking of running

owesafortune

Hi i hope someone can help me.

I have been gambling for the last three years and have run up debts of 40k. I have stopped gambling for the last 3 months and have tried to make agreements with my creditors which i have done twice through MABS and missed the payments as they wanted the full amounts. Now, I have got a new job and the salary is about 475 a week which is 120 a week less than my old job.

I haven't paid in two months and about 5 months in arrears altogether.

Here's the thing: I have one loan with the credit union for 12k and have 6k in my acc but have fallen behind 500 and will pay that arrears this week and what I'm thinking is to pay nobody anything except the credit union 1200 a month and then try to borrow 20k to pay off the rest.

Will i have 10 months before i go to court and have to pay or should i pay a little bit off each , although GE money said they wouldn't freeze my interest what do i do ???

Option 2: I was going to try and pay the union off so i could get my 6k and do a runner. I know it's not the right thing to do go to jail and how long would it take before i could come back ??? or could i stay here and move address ??

I don't know what to do.

Re: realy need advice 40k in debt - thinking of running

If you have nt got the money to repay debt the court is not going to jail you. Keep correspondence with ge on file. Dont ignore them. If they issue proceedings you have nothing to fear as long as you Make some attempt to repay

I don't think it's a good idea to borrow more money. Why can you not go back to MABS, what did they negotiate on your behalf and why did you not pay that amount?

I don't think anyone will advise you to do a runner! although I imagine you are tempted to do one.