Purchasing a buy to let in Ireland through a UK based limited company

nbc

Hi
Im wondering if this is wise- I've seen entries here previously where Brendan Burgess advised never to buy property through an Irish limited company.
So- I'm a Uk resident currently- Im considering a 300K purchase in Ireland - deposit of 75k borrowing 75% interest at 4%

Rental income E24000
Mortgage interest E 9000 ( in UK mortgage interest is no longer tax deductable when you buy in your own name- 20% of interest paid is allowed as a tax credit)
Tax ( assuming 0 expenses for illustrative purposes) E24k -9K = 15K x19% = almost 3K
E12000 profit a year- after 10 years E120000- withdraw for personal use as dividends- tax rate 39% so net profit = E73 k approx

If I buy in my name
Rental income E24000
Tax 45% of E24000= almost E11k ( 20% credit on interest = 2k approx) Net tax 9k
Interest E9000
E6000 profit a year- after 10 years E60000

Net difference E13k

Limited company seems better but not by a whole pile?- am I missing anything obvious?
Im sure buying through limited company's other advantages not listed here- for example using the build up in funds to purchase another property- I will seek professional advice. But thought I'd ask here first!

Regards
nbc

I will pay Irish tax in first instance but get a credit for it but ultimately yes it's the UK tax that's relevant to me.
Only at 20% plus USC if you are the landlord.

You'll also need to check the corporate residence of the company and how it impacts on that.

Personally, I think you'd be crazy to invest using a company, but that's your call.

Given you only have 75K (25%) in cash, why bother? seems barely worth the hassle and risk.
I would be surprised if there are no better business opportunities to invest in that gives you that type of return.

Where are you getting this mortgage? At least rerun with realistic numbers.
im not
Only at 20% plus USC.