Problems retrieving house deeds held by AIB

wavejumper

Hello,

I recently paid up a 20 yr old tracker mortgage initially started with UB and later transferred to AIB. During the lifetime of the mortgage
my partner and I divorced, I paid her off (the mortgage was in both our names) and she signed a deed of waiver and another deed to agree the transfer of the property to my sole name. No issues there, all was done and I have the 2011 documentation from the land registry to show this change in ownership.

I have been asking AIB for the deed for a couple of months now and I am finding I am having some difficulties. They say the deed is in both mine and my ex wives name and before they release the deeds they want myself and my ex wife in an AIB branch with ID and proof of addresses. AIB says my ex wife appears on the deed
with the property Irish address and want her to bring a proof of address matching what's on this deed even though she is remarried and lives in Germany now, a German citizen.

I am going to send AIB a copy of this land registry folio to hopefully get them to re-assess their position and just give me the deeds of my house. Is it possible UB never
updated the deed, or are the deeds held by the bank and the ones on the actual registry two different things?

Is there anything else I can do now?

Thanks,

Send them a letter attaching copies of all your documents; including any divorce / separation decrees if thats appropriate.

House is clearly yours, all legal requirements have been taken care of; someone in AIB is being a jobsworth.

Give them two weeks to confirm & tell them you'll escalate otherwise.

Send them a letter attaching copies of all your documents; including any divorce / separation decrees if thats appropriate.

House is clearly yours, all legal requirements have been taken care of; someone in AIB is being a jobsworth.

Give them two weeks to confirm & tell them you'll escalate otherwise.