People's experiences of the property market (Estate Agents)

K

Kazman

Hello

I am a freelance business journalist trying to do a piece on Estate Agents from a consumer angle and the lack of transparency in the way they work. I feel that it is increasingly important to get to the real stories in the property market behind all the spin and advertisements.

I am hoping to find some real stories to highlight the issues that people are facing in the Irish property market and to speak with people about the experiences that they’ve had when either buying or selling their property.

The types of practices that I will be looking at would include: ghost bidding, sealed bids, false advertising of properties, builders/developers reneging on deposits, agents not working fully on behalf of the sellers or anything else where you may feel you were hard done by.

If you are interested in talking to me about your experience, please send me a message with contact details and I will be in touch.

Many thanks

Re: People's experiences of the property market

Hello Kaz,

Are you preparing this with a particular publication in mind? It might be good for people to know what affiliations you have (For instance, if I had such a story, I might be reluctant to approach a tabloid newspaper.).

Regards,
MugsGame

I am a freelance business journalist trying to do a piece on Estate Agents from a consumer angle and the lack of transparency in the way they work.

Surely you should be approaching this issue with some sort of journalistic objectivity and only coming to conclusions (e.g. about alleged lack of transparency) based on the evidence that you find rather than a priori?

Hi Clubman,

Certainly agree about objectivity being essential and the point I was raising about lack of transparency was with regards to offers being made on houses but only having someone's word for it as there is no paper trail of recorded offers.