Pension Fund Choices

Mel

Changes for our pension fund choices are due soon for 2009.

Last year I chose 50% Medium risk (fund 2 below) and 50% Low risk ((fund 1 below)guaranteed 0% minimum growth). The Medium risk fell to around -35%.

I currently pay in 6% salary per month, started 4 years ago, which is matched by my employer.
I'm 32, one dependent, no debt apart from mortgage.

What would people recommend for future contributions? My gut feeling is to go more towards high risk based on the fact that any shares bought now can only increase in value in the long term... but I'm a complete amateur.

Our choices are listed below:

Fund 1: Secured Performance Fund (Low Risk)
Typically 60% to 80% in Equities; balance in
Properties and Fixed Interest Securities.
Capital Guarantee.
Smoothed Investment Returns.
Management Fee is 1% p.a.

Fund 2: Consensus Managed Fund (Medium Risk)
Typically 60% to 80% in Equities; balance in
Properties and Fixed Interest Securities.
No Capital Guarantees.
True Investment Returns.
Management Fee is 0.65% p.a.

Fund 3: Global Equity Fund (High Risk)
100% Equities.
No Capital Guarantees.
Market Related Investment Returns.
Highest Growth Potential – Greatest Volatility
Risk.

Fund 4: Pension Protection Fund (Low Risk)
Active Management by Irish Life.
100% in long dated Eurozone govt. bonds.
Pension Protection – Capital Guarantee.

Fund 5: Cash Fund (Low Risk)
100% short dated money market instruments.
Capital Security.
Management Fee is 0.75% p.a.

Fund 6: Capital Protection Fund (Low Risk)
There is an equity holding, however the majority is invested in Cash Deposits & Bonds.
Capital Guarantee.
Management Fee 1% p.a.

Fund 7: Global Access Equity Fund (High Risk)
100% Equities.
Multi-Manager Fund.
Market Related Investment Returns.
Highest Growth Protection – Greatest Volatility
Risk.
Management Fee is 1.3% p.a.

Fund 8: Safe Deposit Fund (Low Risk)
ECB Rate + 1% until December 2009
Thereafter, ECB Rate only applies until Dec 2010