Pension advice needed!

bamboozle

To all you pension experts out there i need to decide what to do.
I'm a 28 year old professional, my current salary after tax is about €3200 per month, i own a house with a friend which we rent-rent covers the mortgage. I owe about 3k on my credit card but will have that cleared with next 2 pay cheques. so this leaves me in the position where i've no other outgoings as i'm living at home. I realise the need to set up a pension and my employer offers a PRSA only (with eagle star). I'm planning on buying a house with my partner in about 6 months time so was thinking maybe paying about €100pm into a prsa, is this advisable?

One final question on AVC's- are these just a lump sum contribution?
One reason why i've been holding off on pension was to get my house and mortgage under control but i will also be inheriting about 150k in the next few years and had kinda decided i'd need to put some of that into a pension to boost it....

any advice greatfully received

i own a house with a friend which we rent-rent covers the mortgage.
As this is an investment I take it that you are declaring the profit from it as income see [broken link removed]

thinking maybe paying about €100pm into a prsa,

Is this per week or per month
The 100 will reduce your income by approx 47

One final question on AVC's- are these just a lump sum contribution?

No, The AVC can be deducted from you pay and Paye /PRSI will be deducted at source or it can be a lump sum payment.

i will also be inheriting about 150k in the next few years and had kinda decided i'd need to put some of that into a pension to boost it....

When you get this inheritance you could drip feed into the pension fund each year subject to [broken link removed] You can make lump sum payments to AVC's in relation to the previous tax year and get tax back provided you make payments by 31/10 of the current year e.g.
Make a lump sum prior to 31/10/07 - tax back in relation tax year 2006