Non domiciled tax resident - EU regulated funds.

tomoftheking

Hi, I am a non-domiciled Irish resident for tax purposes. I understand the remittance basis but also that gains from EU regulated funds do not fall under those provisions, ie. CGT is applicable even if not remitted. Does anyone know where I can find out more information on this? The context is that I have investment in stocks but wanted to diversify through a fund but would like to avoid incurring in tax liabilities unnecessarily. Thank you in advance.

I have spent the last 12 years on this subject and as a non/domiciled Irish resident myself can assure you that this subject is more complicated than it seems.

EVERY single client that has approached me has made avoidable mistakes due to a lack of appreciation of the issues and in particular Revenues anti-avoidance provisions.

Well-meaning advice from this site does not take account of all the issues and EVERY a post I have examined on the subject has some errors or omissions such that in my professional opinion will result in avoidable issues arising and errors being made with no protection in the form of professional indemnity insurance.

A detailed guide is available for purchase here

The Three Big Questions Relating To Foreign Nationals

1. Where do you call home?
  2. Where your assets are physically located?
  3. What are your intentions in the future?

Individuals have become more mobile over recent years. Irish individuals increasingly hold non-Irish investments, whether holiday homes, stocks and shares or other investment assets in Europe and further afield and, according to the last census, around 20% of the population of Ireland are Foreign Nationals.
How do we deal with financial planning for non-Irish assets, and how do we advise non-domiciled individuals living in Ireland?