Newbie questions on Index/Mutual Funds

colly

I have recently started looking into the possibiliy of investing in Index/mutual Funds - but I am very new to it and also trying to learn more and find out more information. Does anyone know much about these? Any useful information would be apprecited.

A few questions:
What are the main differnces between mutual and index funds?
Should I stick with Irish ones or shall I investigate US ones through my etrade account?
Is there generally a minimum amount you can invest in (I have about 5k). Can you add more money to this fund on a monthly basis, like a savings/investment account?
Are you 'locked in' for a certain amount of time or can you switch or cash out at any time?
What should you look out for in regard to management fees etc?
What do I look for in a fund to maximise growth?

Some Irish links I have come accross so far as as follows:
[broken link removed]

Edit: Here are some some links I have just found that look like intersting reading and might be usefull to others intersted in same:
[broken link removed]
[broken link removed]
http://www.getrichslowly.org/blog/20...s-index-funds/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collect...estment_Scheme

Any and all advise appreciated
Thanks

Hello colly,

Index fund: a fund that aims to follow the performace of a particular stock market index: e.g. ISEQ, FTSE, S&P 500. They are normally not actively managed by a professional fund manager.

Mutual fund: where an investment company pools your money with other investors. They are managed actively by fund managers to (theoretically) maximise gain. They are often 'themed' by sector and geography. They are by far the most common equity investment vehicle in Ireland.