New business - Best way to advertise my products?

E

ericad

Hi there,

I'm starting a new business from home and I'm unsure of the best way to advertise my products. I'm aiming for the consumer market, low value sales but (hopefully!) high volume.

Am I better to advertise in the local papers or the Irish Times? Should I consider doing flyers? I've been told that I should have a website but I've checked a few firms and for what I asked they are quoting anything from €800 to €2,000 plus VAT!! Thats way beyond my means at the moment.

Can anyone give me some advice on the most cost effective way to get started.
All help welcome.

Hi,

Without giving too much confidential info away I feel it would be best if you give an indication of what type of business and that way you might get more advice here.

there are lots of other ways eg golden pages, sponsorship, signs, word of mouth etc. I am not an expert on marketing but I would think a lot would depend on the type of product in question. For example, I have found a web site to be a waste of money but done correctly it can work for some businesses.

If you think 800-2000 is too much for a website, you should probably forget about most other forms of advertising! Advertising costs €€€€s

What exactly is your advertising budget, and what are you selling?

Consider reading marketing books. There are relationships between cost of product and marketing campaigns etc. Coca-cola spends millions on avertising something that costs cents. Low volume niche market stuff might require less of an outlay.

Erica,
I was getting huge (in my opinion) quotes from a number of Webdesign Companies to design a site for my business. Over €1000 for a five page site. I sell small traditional products and its important to let the customer view the product. The more images I wanted to show the higher the price was going.