Neighbours new Window!

C

ca6leguy

Hi all, after some advice...

We live in an End terrace house. There is a right of way across the back of our house for the neighbour to access their garden. The boundary between the 2 houses is off centre by about 2 metres in our favour, this means that the neighbouring house has a window that looks directly into our garden. This window had obscured glass and was originally the bathroom. The house has now been sold to a developer and they have turned this room into a kitchen and replaced the existing window with a new upvc unit with Clear glass. This means that the view from their kitchen window is directly into our garden. I can stand in our garden and press my nose to their window and look into their kitchen. We feel that our privacy (and theirs) has been compromised. We are not happy, do we have the right to complain? I can provide a picture if it helps...:confused:

I'm not an expert in planning but i would assume that changing the glass type does not require planning

I know you probably dont want to reduce your garden size, but would you consider selling a portion of your back lawn to neighbour so that the boundary can be aligned? The alternative i assume is to plant a hedge behind the window to allow the view to / from the window to be hidden. Do you own all the space up to the wall/window or does the neighbour own the footpath in front of the window?

Hi, Thanks for the reply. I own all the land, they have a Right of way across to get to their garden. Have not considered selling part of the garden... Don't think I want to do that.

It's a pity you didn't spot this on the plans before permission was granted. However I know that in England people have been forced to change glass in windows from clear to obscure because of privacy complaints.

I would check with the county council if they got permission to change from opaque to clear glass. If they did not, then they may need to replace.