My company made a donation to a foreign charity, but Revenue wants to treat it as salary

MélanieO

Two years ago a company I own made a donation to a charity that is not on Revenue's approved charity list. When we sent in the company tax return we declared the donation and paid corporation tax on it. The tax man is back and says I should have paid income tax on the donation as it was my decision to make it. My accountant is contesting view this but the whole saga is drawn out and I'm driven to distraction. Does anyone here have a similar experience or advice share. Thanks. Melanie.

Hi Melanie

How much was the donation?

Were you connected with the charity. What are the objects of the charity?

I am not a tax expert, so there might be specific rules.

I am trying to figure this out. Let's say I set up a charity The Burgess Fund to promote sensible politics in Ireland. That is not an approved purpose so would not get onto the Revenue's charity list.

I pay myself €10,000 gross and personally donate the €5,000 net. The Burgess Fund gets €5,000

If my company pays €9,000 to the charity. It will be added back for tax-purposes and so the company will pay around €1,000 Corporation Tax.

So the company has the same cost €10,000 but my charity gets €9,000.

I am with Revenue on this. I would treat the €10,000 as gross salary but then add it back in calculating the Corporation Tax.

Brendan

By the same token, if I want to give €5,000 to the National Gallery, I should do it via my company. It will be allowed as a deduction for Corporation Tax.

If I pay it to myself and pass on the net, they will get only €2,500.

Brendan

Hi Brendan. Thank you for your reply.

The donation was €20K, it was to an established well know foreign charity that I am not connected to in any way shape of form.