Case study Moving from interest only to annuity on buy to lets and cannot afford repayments

Justone

Hi,
This is my first time posting here and I am looking for some advice or comments. I live in a town of about 6000 people and I have a principle residence and 2 Buy to let properties in the town.
Both myself age 48 and my partner age 47 are in permanent employment and we bought the Buy to let properties with the sole purpose of selling them on at a future date and hoping to make a profit to fund our children’s education. We remortgaged these properties with the AIB in 2009 who were offering us a better deal than the EBS who initially gave us the loans for these properties. Unfortunately due to the down turn in the economy one of the properties is in negative equity and while I have the other for sale for 10 months at €110k and open to offers but we have had no interest at all. In actual fact according to the Residential Property register only 32 properties have sold in this town in the last 12 months and most of these have been at very low prices. Both buy to let properties are on Interest only until Aug 2014 and the rent covers most of the repayments and I make up the shortfall from my own funds. The problem is that with these properties due to go to annuity repayments in Aug 2014 and hopefully one of my children going to college, I will not be able to meet the repayments on these properties. I went to the bank to raise this concern that I may not be able to meet the repayments if we go on the annuity repayments but would be able to do so if we stayed on interest only and whether they would provide this facility for me. I did not say that college fees would be the reason for not being able to make the annuity repayments. The Bank were not interested in going down this route and did not really engage with me other than to say to come back in 12 months time to discuss the situation again.