Mortgage advice for trainee solicitor

legallady

Hi there,
I was wondering if someone here can give me some advise. I am a trainee solicitor in Dublin. My pay is roughly 20k. I am looking for a mortgage to buy an apartment in Dublin as paying over huge ammounts in rent just kills me as its dead money. I have a lump sum of 20k that I could use to pay the mortgage payments for the first two years until I qualify (I will earn roughly 55k then first year after qualification) My parents would be willing to go as garantors, and they own a few properties. Can anyone tell me what I should be able to get as a mortgage. I have heard that banks do take in to account the fact that I am a trainee and will be earning significantly more in a short period of time.
thanks in advance!

Re: Mortgage advise for trainee solicitor

Depends on several factors:
your parents income
your qualification and job prospects (have you been offered a fulltime position yet?)
type and price of property you are purchasing.
existing loans?

Talk to a broker would be my advise

Re: Mortgage advise for trainee solicitor

well thats what the newly qualifieds in my firm got last year anyway....

my parents income is around 70k I guess
I have a car loan which will be paid off when i get my ssia in March
I havent been offered a fulltime job yet, but from my experience and hearing stories from my friends etc, there doesnt seem to be much of a problem coming across work once qualified.
I would be hoping to buy an apartment as close to the city centre as I can.

ulster as far as I know, will take your future earning capability into account and lend 100% to 'professionals'

I was in your shoes a few months ago. ESB will offer 100% mortgage to certain professionals. They will also take into account the fact that you are a trainee and your future income will be greater once you qualify. One or both of your parents will need to be a guarantor though.

Hi Legallady,