Looking to buy a new Apple laptop - suggestions?

Adecco

Basically I'm looking to buy a new laptop - and would like to buy an apple one.
(I'm sick of all these updates with windows. Always seems to take forever to boot up)

But I want the most basic apple laptop there is - as what I need it for is very basic. So essentially i'm looking for one at the cheaper end of the scale.

What model am I best going for can anyone advise?

An Apple laptop will need regular updates too, and so will any software you install on it.

The most basic Mac Book starts at €1,500 for a 13" model.

An Apple laptop will need regular updates too, and so will any software you install on it.

The most basic Mac Book starts at €1,500 for a 13" model.

That's the cheapest apple laptop there is ?? Ouch !!

I've no personal experience with Macs, what's the difference in the patching experience there versus Window OS patches? MS as the more widely used platform attracts a lot more attention from hackers, but that doesn't mean Apple machines don't suffer from vulnerabilities, and Apple often face criticism within the cyber security world about how long it can take them to patch issues. It's not that long ago Kaspersky claimed Mac security was 10 years behind Windows. Personally, I'd prefer more frequent patches to longer exposure to vulnerabilities.

Adecco,

You will pay a lot more for an Apple laptop - Apple fans will say it's worth it, PC fans will say it's not (I'm one of the former!).

The cheapest MacBook I can see at Apple.ie at the moment is E1,179 - it's the 13 inch MacBook Air with 128 GB storage. I have an earlier MacBook Air and it's the best laptop I ever had.

Apple.ie also has a section that sells refurbished Apple products - check here for laptops: . There's one there at the moment for E999.

If your needs are very basic and you want to escape Windows you might consider this [broken link removed] running Ubuntu (Linux) @ €249 inc. VAT & delivery.